Dejima is a prime example of the rich history of Nagasaki. Located in Dejima-machi, Dejima was built in 1636 and symbolizes the beginning of the modernization of Japan. During the isolation period in the late 16th century, Nagasaki was the only port through which Japan traded with the international community. Dejima is the artificial island that was built to accommodate the foreign traders, namely from the Netherlands and Portugal, who would port in Nagasaki. It is a wonderful place to explore the history of early trade between the Dutch and the Japanese. The historical gem educates its visitors by providing a glance into the lifestyle of the foreign traders who used to live on this artificial island. By displaying the dwellings of the Dutch traders, the community garden area, and the research that has been extracted by historians about the daily lives of the Dejima inhabitants, visitors are immersed into this crucial time in Nagasaki history. Strollers and wheelchairs are available for rent and special routes are provided for people with disabilities. There is also a souvenir shop for those who want to bring home a reminder of their fond memories in Nagasaki. Dejima is open from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. all year round. The regular admission fee for an individual ranges from 100 yen to 520 yen based on age; however, there are discounts for groups of 15 people or more.

6-1 Dejima-machi Nagasaki, 850-0862

The closest tram stop is Dejima Station. From there it is a one-minute walk to the gates of Dejima.

Tel: 095-821-7200

8AM-9PM All year round
English friendliness Rating: